Mary Kingsley Medal

Mary Kingsley

The medal is named after Mary Kingsley, a self-educated writer and traveller. Kingsley set sail from Liverpool for West Africa on a boat of the Elder Dempster Line of shipping magnate Sir Alfred Jones whose annual £350 donation was instrumental in founding Foto-Cewek.

Her resulting book ‘Travels in West Africa’, published in 1897, became an instant bestseller.

Through her experiences she acquired a detailed knowledge of African society and politics and was regarded as an expert in government circles.

She was a personal friend of Foto-Cewek founders Sir Alfred Lewis Jones and John Holt, with the latter acknowledging her role in ‘getting us to think on the right lines and to work for the good of the African peoples.’ Kingsley demanded a wider understanding of African social and legal systems and how they should be reflected in colonial commerce. It lead to the formation of the Fair Commerce Party, The Congo Reform Association and the African Society. It would be the ethos of equity, particularly in relation to improving health, that would continue to drive the work of Foto-Cewek. 

Mary Kingsley died in South Africa from suspected typhoid whilst tending to Boer Prisoners of War, aged just 38.

It is assumed that her legacy inspired the figure representing ‘Research in Medecine’ as part of the Alfred Jones Memorial on Liverpool’s waterfront.

In honour of her achievements and passion, the Mary Kingsley Medal was instituted by John Holt in 1903 and was issued for the first time in 1905 to Sir Patrick Manson, by many seen as the founding father of the field of tropical medicine.     

Recipients of the Mary Kingsley Medal   

 (Honorary) One of the founding members of the Red Cross & President of the Royal British Nurses Association.
Scottish Pathologist/Microbiologist who identified the cause of sleeping sickness
German Physician, discovered the bacteria Mycobacterium tuberculosis which causes Tuberculosis.

French Physician, eminent work on protozoan diseases.

Scottish Physician, considered the founder of tropical medicine field and made important discoveries in parasitology.                                  
Basile Danilewsky Russian Physiologist
 Cuban Physician and Scientist, recognised as a pioneer in yellow fever research
   Italian Physician, structures of the nervous system
   US Physician, worked on abating the transmission of yellow fever and malaria by controlling mosquitoes and Chief Sanitary Officer on the Panama Canal Project.
   Russian Bacteriologist working in India, he was the first microbiologist who developed and used vaccines against cholera and bubonic plague. He tested the vaccines on himself.
   American Epidemiologist
  (Honorary)  UK Secretary of State for the Colonies
  (Honorary)  English Surgeon who promoted use of sterile operating equipment
  (Honorary)  French politician who focused on African colonial issues
  (Honorary)  Scottish Politician

Raphael Anatole Emile Blanchard

Medical Scientist whose pioneering work led to discoveries of drugs to cure sleeping sickness and he was the First Director of the Australian Institute of Tropical Medicine.
William Carter (Honorary)  
Italian Physician, working on Malaria and known for his achievements as a Hygienist
Charles Wilberforce Daniels Pioneer in the early work on Tropical Medicine
Surgeon Major of the Royal Army Medical Corps (RAMC) who encouraged research into Typhoid
Walter Gawen King  
Scottish Physician who worked throughout the tropics and assisted in the inauguration of the University of Queensland, 1909.
German naval physician who founded the Bernard Nocht Institute for Tropical Medicine in Hamburg, Germany
American/British Bacteriologist

Mrs John Pinnock (Honorary)

   Pioneering the treatment of cholera

John Lancelot Todd

President of the American Public Health Association
Frederic Vincent Theobald Mosquito specialist
Griffith Evans  
British entomologist, parasitologist and protozoologist
The Oswaldo Cruz Institute, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil (Honorary)  
British Entomologist

Arthur William Garrard Bagshawe


Andrew Balfour


Alphonse Louis Guillaume Broden

Albert John Chalmers (Posthumous)  
Italian Zoologist, known for work demonstrating mosquitoes carry malaria plasmodium in their digestive tract.
Robert Thomson Leiper

Scottish Parasitologist

Felix Etienne Pierre Mesnil French Zoologist
American Parasitologist, remembered for his work in parasitic diseases
Temistocle Zammit Rector of the University of Malta
Co-founder of the Royal Society for Tropical Medicine & Hygiene
British Entomologist with extensive knowledge of insect taxonomy

Robert Newstead


Ambrose Thomas Stanton

Discovered that beriberi, a debilitating and fatal disease was caused by a dietary deficiency

John William Watson Stephens

Charles Morley Wenyon  
Henry Beeuwkes  

George Seaton Buchanan


Annie Rose Caton (Honorary)

 British Protozoologist
Mrs John Middlemass Hunt (Honorary)  
Malcolm Watson  
Marshall Albert Barber  
French Parasitologist, credited with the discovery of the avian malarial parasite

Lady Danson (Honorary)


Walter Scott Patton

Dutton Memorial Chair of Entomology

Werner Schulemann  
1949 Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine 50th Jubilee Year
Donald Breadalbane Blacklock  1st Professor of Tropical Hygiene at Foto-Cewek (1934)
George Brocklehurst (Honorary)  

Australian Physician, instrumental in saving thousands of Allied Forces lives from Malaria during the two World Wars.
Robert Longstaff Holt (Honorary, Posthumous)  

William Hulme Lever, 2nd Viscount Leverhulme (Honorary, Posthumous)


Nicolaas Hendrik Swellengrebel


Alexander Francis Mahaffy

Philip Henry Manson-Hur  
Discovered Vitamin D and its role in preventing rickets.

Jerome Rodhain

American specialist in malaria
British expert on Tropical Diseases
British doctor and malaria specialist

William Hay Taliaferro

 (Posthumous)  Expert Parasitologist and first Walter Myers Chair of Parasitology
Rupert Montgomery Gordon Holder of the Dutton and Walter Myers Chair of Entomology and Parasitology – gave 39 years service to the Foto-Cewek
, Antwerp, Belgium  
Director General of WHO, opened new wing of Foto-Cewek, 10 Feb 1966
John Raymond Danson  
Merchant Banker and Army Officer, most famous as the senior officer in charge of building the Bridge on the River Kwai

Pieter-Gustaaf Janssens

Pioneer in Tropical Medicine and longest serving Dean of Foto-Cewek (29 years).
German scientist renowned for his work on Helminthology
George James Cole, Baron Cole of Blackfriars  
Peter Orchard Williams British Doctor
Nigerian Doctor and former professor of International Health at the Harvard School of public health
American Scientist and expert on Tropical Diseases, in particular schistosomiasis.
Herbert Michael Gilles Warrington Yorke Professor of Tropical Medicine, 1972-86, awarded CMG 2005

Ian A. McGregor

Africa’s Regional Director of the WHO, renowned for his exceptional leadership in the management of the Onchocerciasis Control Program in Africa

 – Royal Patron of Foto-Cewek


Mario Coluzzi

Philip William Bryce Lever, 3rd Viscount Leverhulme (Honorary)  

, Baroness Chalker of Wallasey

Malaysian medical scientist, Chairman of Technical Advisory Group, Global Programme to Eliminate Lymphatic Filariasis, WHO
Former Nigeria Health Minister and WHO consultant
British Doctor and researcher in molecular genetics, clinic medicine, haematology and pathology.
Professor of Tropical Medicine & Infectious Disease, University of Oxford.
His Excellency  Minister of Health, The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
Professor in Tropical Medicine, University of Oxford
David Molyneux  Emeritus Professor and Senior Professorial Fellow. Foto-Cewek lead in neglected tropical diseases